Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What keeps you excited about pens?

Thanks

Default What keeps you excited about pens?

I'm still a newbie but that keeps me excited about pens is the ink. There seems to be an endless amount of colors. It's mind blowing but exciting.

Thanks

Default Re: What keeps you excited about pens?

Ink and Nib and good paper (tied in 1st place).
    Comfortable pen (2nd place).
    Pretty or cool looking pen (3rd place).
    Cool design themes like pens inspired by trains, planes, and skyscrapers (added and ongoing pleasure).
    Fortibus es in ero

Thanks

Currently it's trying different nibs, but inks are a constant wonder.

4. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to RocketRyan For This Useful Post:

carlos.q (June 23rd, 2017), Marsilius (June 23rd, 2017)

Thanks
    Thanked 2,591 Times in 699 Posts

I don't know about excited, but I've realized that I really like to write, like to write by hand, and that the different characteristics of fountain and dip pen nibs add an extra interest to the process.

Not so much inks, although I do enjoy the variety.
    "If a thing is worth doing, it is worth doing badly."
    G.K. Chesterton

Thanks
    Thanked 2,529 Times in 1,299 Posts

As someone who has found it nearly impossible to match accessibility with reasonable (not bargain) prices, I have found myself stalled. It is unlikely that I'll go hunting again. Never say never I suppose, but I wouldn't bet on it. I tried the custom idea, however that comes with extraordinary wait times for nice pens with bog standard nibs, pen models that are usually too short and/or don't post, absurd price hikes for minor changes to existing pens, and a degree of preciousness on the part of the makers that simply does not exist with the larger pen companies.