Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Best inks for vintage pens (Parker, Esterbrook & Sheaffer especially)

Thanks

Default Best inks for vintage pens (Parker, Esterbrook & Sheaffer especially)

Hi gang,

I am new to the vintage pen world, so help me out here.

What brands of inks should I be looking for (or away from) for use in vintage pens like a Parker 51, an Esterbook J or SJ, and a Sheaffer desk pen? Are there particular brands that are more saturated that I should avoid? Are there other factors that are still outside my knowledge.

I am thinking first in terms of not gumming them up, and secondly what is actually going to look good and work well with some of these older pens.

Thanks for your thoughts,
    Todd

Thanks

Default Re: Best inks for vintage pens (Parker, Esterbrook & Sheaffer especially)

Hi Todd,
    While there are many varying opinions, I will suggest one. Good Pen Hygiene. Be sure to full flush between brands/colors, and flush whenever your pen seems to have sluggish performance. Cool water, rinse rinse rinse, then stand your nib in a small glass overnight with the nib in a bit of paper towel to absorb.
    Hope that helps.
    There are different viscosities, such a Private Reserve Tanzanite is known for being super fluid, and Pelikan 4001 for being dry, etc. you will learn them in time.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to tytoalba For This Useful Post:

Margana (May 4th, 2013), ToddPeperkorn (April 25th, 2013)

Thanks
    Thanked 1,222 Times in 598 Posts

Default Re: Best inks for vintage pens (Parker, Esterbrook & Sheaffer especially)