Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Reductionist Job Descriptions

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Thanks
    Thanked 3,788 Times in 1,642 Posts

Default Reductionist Job Descriptions

People have often asked me "Exactly what do you do?" When I was a chemist, the description had to be tailored to the listener and was often amusingly reductionist: "I mess with stuff to find out what's in it."

Now that I'm interning as a funeral director the answer is "We take dead people, put a big smile on their face, and put 'em in a box."

What, exactly, do you do?
    "Nolo esse salus sine vobis ...” —St. Augustine

2. The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to VertOlive For This Useful Post:

Amanda (October 31st, 2017), Annie (November 19th, 2017), Jon Szanto (November 25th, 2017), Kaputnik (October 31st, 2017), Lady Onogaro (October 31st, 2017), Morgaine (November 2nd, 2017), R.A. Stewart (November 13th, 2017), TSherbs (November 1st, 2017)

Thanks

Default Re: Reductionist Job Descriptions

I began my working life in computer graphics, then went to art school, which has led to me now having two jobs at once. As an artist I apply layers of goop to surfaces, then re-arrange them until it's attractive and has many layers of meaning. My other is re-arranging pixels until an old mess looks like a new photo. (It helps to be able to paint when there's anatomy missing.)
    It's all about the greys...

4. The Following User Says Thank You to Amanda For This Useful Post:

VertOlive (November 5th, 2017)

Thanks

I am retired. I am an American Idle.
    "Nothing is enough for the man to whom enough is too little." -Epicurus-

6. The Following 10 Users Say Thank You to Paddler For This Useful Post: