Thread: I never clean

Thanks

Default I never clean

Ive been using fountain pens for 40 years and never clean my pens. I have only used Sheaffer blue or Waterman blue so maybe thats the reason. I write quite a bit and never have had any problem. Anyway visiting this site has made me question my procedure. I really dont think I need to be that geeky.

Thanks

Default Re: I never clean

If you use the same ink all the time, cleaning a pen frequently is overkill. Periodically isn't bad. Of course, the more you use your pen(s), the less frequently it would be required. If I had one or two pens, only used one or two inks, I might not do it frequently either. I keep about 10 inked. I try not to duplicate any of the inks (brand/color). I have over 30 pens. I am going to either let a lot of pens sit, or not use all my inks or be flushing periodically.....
    Brad "Words are, of course, the most powerful drug used by mankind" - Rudyard Kipling

"None of us can have as many virtues as the fountain-pen, or half its cussedness; but we can try." - Mark Twain

Thanks

OK, thank you. You obviously are an expert. I only use one pen. I have 3 others that I dont use cause I like this one so much.

Thanks
    Thanked 11,070 Times in 4,021 Posts

You are, sir, in the most positive meaning of the term, an anomaly. One pen and one ink can certainly go for years without any maintenance. However, this is certainly the exception to most modern pen users behavior, even if it comes closer to the way people used pens in the early part of the last century.

You would NOT believe how popular it is, especially for younger pen users, to amass giant collections of many colors of ink and swap them regularly in their pens. This, among other reasons, is why pen cleaning hygiene gets discussed so often these days.
    "When Men differ in Opinion, both Sides ought equally to have the Advantage of being heard by the Publick;