Thread: Replcement nib for Visconti Wall Street?

Thanks

Default Replcement nib for Visconti Wall Street?

I have recently acquired a newer Visconti Wall Street, with a 14k F nib. I would love replace it with an XF nib. I am new to the fountain pen world and don't know if this is possible, and if so, how to accomplish it. Any suggestions or guidance welcome. Thanks in advance!

Thanks

Default Re: Replcement nib for Visconti Wall Street?

A few retailers sell new Visconti nib units and you can occasionally find them on eBay or other second hand sources. A few things to be aware of (in no particular order).

1) Visconti hasn't made 14k nibs in a while so any new nib unit will be 23k palladium. 14k nibs are generally liked more than palladium. I really like the palladium nibs but some people don't.
    2) Visconti uses two nib sizes so make sure you get the right size nib. I think the Wall Street uses the larger, #6 size nib.
    3) Visconti nib units can be unscrewed but doing so by hand is generally a bad idea. You can buy a tool specifically designed to unscrew Visconti nib units but they're hard to find.
    4) You'll probably have to replace the entire nib unit and not just the nib. Loose Visconti nibs are really rare and it's easier to replace the entire unit than a nib.
    5) If you don't want to keep the 14k nib you could contact Coles of London about a nib swap. But I'd probably want to keep or sell the 14k nib since it's hard to find.

I know appelboom sells Visconti nib units:
    https://appelboom.com/brands-903/bra...d-refills-570/

It looks like Goulet sells steel units:
    https://www.gouletpens.com/pages/sea...visconti%20nib

Nib removal tool:
    http://www.wqy7d306o.homepage.t-onli...valmanual.html
    I bought the tool from this guy and it works as expected. I think I had to email him since the site doesn't have a webshop.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mulrich For This Useful Post: