Thread: Help! Anniversary gift - Paper and ink / need suggestions

Thanks

Default Help! Anniversary gift - Paper and ink / need suggestions

hi guys!

I am working on a project for my one year anniversary where I am writing my husband letters for important dates and events in our lives - like our big anniversaries and similar - and so the letters need to last a long time. My last letter is meant to be opened on our 50th anniversary, so it has to last for 50 years!

The letters will be kept in a wooden box most of the time unless they are being read or reread. Right now humidity probably isn’t an issue but it could be in the future.

Please link me to paper and ink products I should use for this product! I need to know what combination to use so they will last 50+ years because I’d love for our kids to be able to keep the letters too if they want. Also, I have no fancy pen experience so keep that in mind.

Thank you!!!
    Last edited by JBax; September 11th, 2018 at 04:10 PM.

Thanks

Default Re: Help! Anniversary gift - Paper and ink / need suggestions

While I’m at it -

I was planning on putting these in a wooden box but I’m reading online that I might need to opt for an archival grade box. Is that necessary or something I need to look at far into the future? Can I put an archival box inside a pretty wood box? So many questions!

Thanks

Bump. Really need urgent help.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,703 Times in 822 Posts

Congrats and best of luck with your awesome project!!

I don't know much but I will try to help...

Here is a link to an FPN thread concerning the ink question to get you started.

http://www.fountainpennetwork.com/fo...ron-gall-inks/

My takeaway is modern IG ink will last at least a lifetime. For what it's worth, the inks used on various documents pertaining to my forebears, despite being written between 60-90 years ago and stored haphazardly, remain quite legible.