Thread: Hello from Saskatchewan (Canada)

Thanks

Default Hello from Saskatchewan (Canada)

Hi,

Somehow I never joined this forum before, even though I've been using fountain pens for a few years.

I've amassed a modest collection of pens but I seem to prefer Parker pens with Vacumatic mechanisms. My go-to pen is my 1947 Canadian-made Parker 51 Vac. I have a few Vacumatic Majors and a Vacumatic Sub Deb too.

Inkwise, the collection is much larger than it needs to be and I'm embarrassed to say it took me about six years to empty my first bottle of ink (a bottle of Waterman Florida Blue that I finished just this past weekend). I'm going to make a concerted effort to try to downsize the collection a little bit and use up some of the older bottles.

I'm involved in a traveling journal project and have been for several years. We have a journal in which to make entries for a couple or three weeks, and then mail it off to the next person. Everyone has a journal in circulation, so notwithstanding transit times, everyone has a journal in which to make entries.

I haven't gotten too crazy about paper and notebooks, but I do like the smooth paper in the Apica notebooks.

We're thinking of a trip to Japan next year and the idea of exploring the fountain pen culture there is quite intriguing. One reason I need to downsize the ink collection is to make room for a couple or three bottles of hard-to-get-outside-Japan ink, if this trip happens.

Jim

Thanks

Default Re: Hello from Saskatchewan (Canada)

Hello and welcome. It took me a few years too to finish a bottle 30ml of purple ink.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Morgaine View Post
    Hello and welcome. It took me a few years too to finish a bottle 30ml of purple ink.
    Purple must be your favourite? I'd put it in third place behind blue and green for me, but I find myself using it more and more over time.

Thanks
    Thanked 10,467 Times in 4,006 Posts

Hello and welcome to FPGeeks.