Thread: Is this an authentic MB?

Thanks

Default Is this an authentic MB?

Hi, I'm a newly registered member and I need some help, please.
    I bought this on ebay recently and just received it yesterday.
    I'm not sure about the authenticity of it and the seller isn't either as she/he said it was a gift from "someone close" to her/him.
    She/he wanted me to take it to a Montblanc boutique for verification. The auction number is 401795883038
    I'm not familiar with the plastic piston ink refill that this pen has, as I do have a vintage MB 32 with a totally different piston filler.
    Thank you for any help anyone can give me.
    IMG_6343.jpgIMG_6348.JPGIMG_6350.JPGIMG_6351.JPGIMG_6352.JPG

Thanks

Default Re: Is this an authentic MB?

It looks like a genuine 144 to me, Montblanc has had a few cartridge / converter fillers, and nibs have varied a bit over the years on this model but from a quick search it looks correct. I'm not an expert and would not spot a good fake from pictures but it usually dawns on you after a while. Fake Montblancs aren't as common as fake Parkers.
    Last edited by arrow; July 7th, 2019 at 12:20 PM.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to arrow For This Useful Post:

BlkWhiteFilmPix (July 8th, 2019)

Thanks
    Thanked 6,379 Times in 2,500 Posts

Con: Montblanc never offered the 114R (later a/k/a Classique) in that dark color. These pens were made in either black or bordeaux (a red color lighter than your pen). Earliest 144R bordeaux pens had black sections, which doesn't apply here. But: The color issue might just be due to your camera. Con: except that the dark color in your photos matches that in the seller's photos.

Con: The plastic feed doesn't fit with early nibs with that pattern (the photos aren't clear enough to judge the nib itself - does a magnet stick to it?). But: It's possible that a genuine pen's original ebonite feed had been replaced.