Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting into italic

Thanks

Default Getting into italic

I have recently decided that my life needs some line variation, so I started looking for italic pens. Since I have been enamorated with the Italix Parson's Essential for quite some time, I thought that maybe I could get one with an italic nib. I sent an e-mail to Peter Ford at MrPen.co.uk asking about the Parson's nib options:

Quote Originally Posted by Avastgard
    Hello, there.

I have been considering buying Italix Parson's Essential, but I haven't decided what nib to choose. I want to try one with some line variation, but since I am no calligraphy expert and intend to use the pen for everyday cursive writing, I was wondering if you could tell me what would be the best nib for that.

I don't have a very large calligraphy, so I am thinking that maybe a fine cursive stub would be ideal to me (line variation without distorting the lettering too much). The fact that it's a stub means that the nib is smoother for cursive writing, right? What about oblique nibs? Will they dig into the paper more than a stub?

Thank you for your attention.
    To which he replied:

Quote Originally Posted by Peter Ford
    You will get a fairly poor distinction between the lines from a fine cursive. If a fine italic nib is your main criteria, then choose the Italix 'Originalis' which uses 'Manuscript' nibs. A cursive has the corners of the nib tip rounded off, so less likely to dig the paper but will always be a compromise. Oblique should only be selected if you hold the pen at an angle and cannot correct this with a better grip. The Parson's is a spectacular pen for normal use because it is so smooth and free flowing, better to go for a standard fine italic and learn to adjust your grip.