Thread: Section - shellac

Thanks
    Thanked 2,528 Times in 1,299 Posts

Default Section - shellac

I've got this vintage Accurate pen
    Last edited by Empty_of_Clouds; March 13th, 2020 at 05:05 AM.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,927 Times in 842 Posts

Default Re: Section - shellac

I would not shellac the section in place. Instead I would build up layers of shellac to make the section fit securely in the barrel and allow it to cure completely before refitting.
    Regards,
    Deb
    My Blog

3. The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Deb For This Useful Post:

amk (January 1st, 2020), AzJon (December 31st, 2019), Chuck Naill (December 30th, 2019), Kaputnik (January 1st, 2020), SchaumburgSwan (December 30th, 2019)

Thanks

Before painting the area with shellac, it might be worthwhile eliminating other potential problems 1st, as Shellac is probably the last solution to consider.

I've dabbled with pen tinkering, so I'm not an expert so do not tke this as gospel, but these are some things I've noticed when taking pens apart. (Consider this an opinion from a not-so-wise head)

1/ The nib might not be a great fit. If it's not the original nib, then the build up of ink might by evidence that the nib doesn't fit, or isn't seated properly causing the problem.
    2/ Could there be a missing o-ring? Some of the vintage pens I've taken apart have had O-rings beneath the hood. It's possible that the rubber has disintegrated and needs replaced.

Thanks
    Thanked 10,363 Times in 3,978 Posts

Deb explains how to repair a lever filler pen here and does not shellac the section into the barrel. Even if you did shellac the section into the barrel it wouldn't be an airtight seal anyway because of the lever and box as you suggest.

An ink build up where the nib is seated into the section suggests the nib and feed aren't playing perfectly well together. As you've replaced the Warranted #8 nib with a Parker Duofold nib this would seem to be the more likely problem.