Thread: Parker pencil ???

Thanks

Default Parker pencil ???

In the scary lot of pens I bought, is this. But is it a 51 or a 61? It measures 5.25" and is cap actuated. Can't find a date code. Any help on an ID would the great.
    Black parker pencil.JPG
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

http://www.etsy.com/shop/peachez

Thanks

Default Re: Parker pencil ???

Hi Annie,
    I'm no expert, just a pen nerd chilling while my daughter is napping.
    From looking at the photos at the Museum I would guess a "51". That would be for the US version, do you know if it's US or UK? All of the 61s seem to have a smaller nosecone. The 61 jewels are smaller than on the "51" if you have one to compare.

--greg

Thanks

This is a UK made pencil and I get what you mean about the cone being smaller on the 61. Are we comparing jewels between 51/61 on pencils? Pens? Can you tell I know less than zip about pencils?
    Do not meddle in the affairs of dragons, for you are crunchy and taste good with ketchup.

Thanks

Based on the link I included I assumed the "51" pencil.

in the section on the 61 Jonathan says:
    "The pencils were just a bit skinnier, particularly at the top end. Top jewels are significantly smaller."

I don't have any "51" pencil's in stock to measure at the moment.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by gweddig View Post
    Based on the link I included I assumed the "51" pencil.

in the section on the 61 Jonathan says:
    "The pencils were just a bit skinnier, particularly at the top end. Top jewels are significantly smaller."

I don't have any "51" pencil's in stock to measure at the moment.
    Thanks for this. A look at Jonathan's pictures tells me that it's a 51 as the cone on the 61 is significantly different to the one I have.

Thanks