Thread: An "Accurate" pen review

Thanks
    Thanked 2,528 Times in 1,299 Posts

Default An "Accurate" pen review

As some may recall, a while ago I acquired a vintage fountain pen that had no branding on it except for the name "Accurate" engraved on the clip. The principal reason for this purchase was the desire to own at least one old ebonite pen, especially with a woodgrain effect to it. Unfortunately, as I subsequently discovered, this pen is in fact made of some other material - most likely a plastic of some kind. Nevertheless, it is a pleasant pen to use, or is now (more on this later).

Here is the pen (apologies for photos, everyone knows I am not good with a camera).

Some dimensions:

Pen capped = 132 mm
    Body = 104 mm
    Body + nib = 129 mm
    Approx max girth of body = 13 mm
    Narrowest part of section is approx. 10 mm
    Section length = 15 mm

Originally the pen would most likely have been fitted with a size 8 warranted gold nib. In this case the seller has replaced this with a large vintage Parker Duofold nib in an extra fine width. So it is fitting to give a quick comparison with a Parker Duofold Sr, thus:

As can be seen, both pens are very similar in sizes. The Accurate pen is perhaps a 1 mm longer when capped, and seems slightly thicker overall. The length difference is more noticeable when uncapped, but still not too significant.

The Accurate pen posts firmly, but ends up being 170 mm long! The balance remains largely unaffected.

As can be seen, it is a lever filler. Not really anything I can add that most people already don't know about such systems. It works, and takes a reasonable fill of ink.