Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sheaffer Legacy advice needed

Thanks

Default Sheaffer Legacy advice needed

Posted 39 minutes ago

Hello Sheaffer fans,

Although the Grande Connaisseur and Connaisseur are two of my favorite modern models, I have little personal experience with other contemporary Sheaffers. I'm interested in finally using a Legacy because of my enjoyment with the only PFM I have at the moment: PFM V. I would appreciate people suggesting a reasonable price to pay for a good condition used one or for a new one. I don't really go for all metal pens, so I suppose I'd prefer a Legacy with resin barrel & metal cap. Aside from that, plus a nib in very good or better condition, I don't have other criteria at the moment. I'd likely use it with cartridges, as I do with many current pens. Have always had good luck on ebay because I have purchased fountain pens I know right well (Montblanc, Sailor, Parker 51 & 61, and a few others). Do people have suggestions for other second-hand sources for the Legacy? Are there any features of the Legacy, or eras of production, I should be wary of?

Thanks in advance to all. Stay healthy. Enjoy the remainder of your weekend.

Best wishes,

Barry

Thanks
    Thanked 10,367 Times in 3,978 Posts

Default Re: Sheaffer Legacy advice needed

If you want a Legacy that uses a modern twist action Sheaffer converter as well as cartridges then I would recommend you might prefer a Legacy Heritage. The Legacy's 1 and 2 are touchdown fillers with a special internal converter but they will take Sheaffer squeeze filling converters and cartridges too.
    They sometimes crop up on ebay for reasonable prices otherwise they can be fairly costly pens just like the Connaisseur is.
    Regards, Chrissy | My Review Blog: inkyfountainpens

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Chrissy For This Useful Post:

Barry B. Gabay (July 13th, 2020)

Thanks
    Thanked 6,390 Times in 2,505 Posts