Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Waterman Taperite Restore

Thanks

Default Waterman Taperite Restore

I'm new to restoring fountain pens, but I am thoroughly enjoying my experience so far. I have resac'ed and cleaned one Waterman pen from eBay. No clue on year or model, but it wrote beautifully when it was done. Fine 2A nib with a decent bit of flex. I miss that pen. Someone bought it off me quick. I now have a black-gold USA taperite that I'm tearing down. I've successfully removed the section and the lever from the body. There's still some sac left inside that I'm currently trying to get out. My big question is this: how do I remove the nib? It appears that the tapered end might not be as wide as the end of the feed...but I can't really tell. Does it come out through the tapered end like every other pen I've see or is there a trick to this one? I tried gently tapping it using a jewelers hammer, small punch and securing it in a jewelers vice...it looks like it moved some, but I'm afraid to push it and possibly crack the section. So I come to the experts! Help?
    Last edited by naviathan; November 3rd, 2020 at 06:14 PM.

Thanks
    Thanked 1,703 Times in 822 Posts

Default Re: Waterman Taperite Restore

It's all too easy to damage pens.

I'm not an expert. I've seen advice to apply heat, with a temp controlled device. If it is hard rubber, it makes the rubber less brittle and make it easier to remove the nib. If celluloid it can expand/losen/soften. But too much heat and/or for too long can destroy stuff very easily. And there's little tolerance on the temp.

Also I've seen many pros ecommend that if you don't *need* to remove a nib, don't.

I am uninformed about that particular pen.

I would scour the internet for repair advice from pros.

Or course with FPN down you're missing out on a lot.

Maybe check out some books on fountain pen repair too.

Thanks
    Thanked 11,039 Times in 4,010 Posts