Thread: Anyone used Standardgraph nibs? (dip pen)

Thanks
    Thanked 6,003 Times in 2,190 Posts

Default Anyone used Standardgraph nibs? (dip pen)

I've settle down on Leonardt Ef Principal nib. It's the best nib for my needs and the many inks I use.
    I've tried some brause nib with "natural" ink, but they don't like it.
    I've rubbed and cleaned them with toothpaste and what not and it doesn't matter. They only like sumi inks.

I wonder has anyone used Standardgraph drawing nibs for calligraphy?

What is your experience and do you have a favorite?

Thanks
    Thanked 2,207 Times in 1,246 Posts

Default Re: Anyone used Standardgraph nibs? (dip pen)

I've got some, but haven't tried them yet - I try not to break in new nibs whilst I still have others on the go, and I'm working through a box of old Waverley's at the moment.

Have you tried potato for your Brause nibs? I tend to just flame them, but if I have to do several, I do still use the old potato trick. I'm no scientist, so have no idea what enzyme it is that breaks down the oil/coating, but it really does work!

3. The Following User Says Thank You to mizgeorge For This Useful Post:

Yazeh (May 15th, 2021)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by mizgeorge View Post
    I've got some, but haven't tried them yet - I try not to break in new nibs whilst I still have others on the go, and I'm working through a box of old Waverley's at the moment.
    Waverly, lucky you
    I just wondered if their worthwhile trying...
    Have you tried potato for your Brause nibs? I tend to just flame them, but if I have to do several, I do still use the old potato trick. I'm no scientist, so have no idea what enzyme it is that breaks down the oil/coating, but it really does work!
    No. I used it the toothpaste trick. And I washed the Brause (pumpkin & rose) several times. They don't like many types of inks (that's what I read on some review)