Thread: Ink questions

Thanks

Default Ink questions

So as I'm wanting to learn more about inks I have a few questions I'm sure people smarter than me would be able to answer, and maybe stimulate a nice discussion.

What might cause an ink to be wet vs dry if they were used in the same pen, for instance is there something in the ink? And what would make an ink "over saturated", would it be more dye in the ink and is over saturated more of a personal preference? Just asking to try to learn more, I wish there was a website that explained all of this.

I know the main ones that I always look for like bleed through and feathering, I would just like to learn even more.

Thanks
    mreeveshp

Thanks

Default Re: Ink questions

'What might cause an ink to be wet vs dry if they were used in the same pen?'

I am no Ink expert, but my answer is viscosity.

See here: https://www.britannica.com/science/viscosity
    And here: https://rheonics.com/viscosity-stand...%20consumption.

3. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to An old bloke For This Useful Post:

Chrissy (September 27th, 2021), mreeveshp (September 26th, 2021)

Thanks

Hi,

...and wetting agents reducing surface tension - tensides etc.

Best
    Jens
    Schaumburg_Swan aka SchaumburgSwan
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/136145166@N02/albums

5. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Schaumburg_Swan For This Useful Post:

Chrissy (September 27th, 2021), Lloyd (September 27th, 2021)

Thanks
    Thanked 10,367 Times in 3,978 Posts

When making ink you have some basic ingredients that include, but aren't restricted to, different dyes, wetting agents, mould inhibitors, shelf life extenders and water. The addition of water makes the resulting mixture more or less saturated. Inks that contain less water percentage and heavy dye bases are usually more saturated and can be more viscous depending on the amounts of their other ingredients.