Thread: Hello all

Thanks

Default Hello all

Hello Everyone,

My name is Rhys and I am excited to join your community. I have been enamored with pens for about a decade starting when I began taking copious notes in undergrad. I found fountain pens as a way to maintain interest in writing and admiring the pens and their beauty as a quick distraction. I started with a Lamy AL bought in Chicago as a gift from my mother, some of you probably remember that store! A hospital I was doing clinicals at had a nurse who was involved in the pen community and collected mostly European pens. I moved from the Lamy to a Parker purchased at Office Depot in a gift kit. These pens served me well for a couple years and when I graduated from undergrad I was gifted a Nakaya Cigar, which had been a lust object for me. I could write an article on how Nakaya speaks to my heart.

At the same time I was given a Nakaya my brother was gifted a Neo Standard Writer. Unfortunately he did not like it or want it so re-gifted it to me, very kind of him! At the hospital I used two Lamys, one Safari and one AL. They were total work horses and went through 5 or 6 years of hard use. The Nakaya were reserved for grad school studying and were seeing plenty of use.