Thread: Montblanc Ceramic Prisma - opinion??

Thanks

Default Montblanc Ceramic Prisma - opinion??

I am relatively new to the fountain, pen world. I’ve been using a cheap one to see if I really enjoyed them, and I have decided to take the plunge and buy a high-end fountain pen to use at work. I’m looking for something that is a statement piece. That is not crazy out there flamboyant but something that is elegant, classy and sophisticated looking.

I have decided on the Legrand 146 size.

I was originally thinking I would pick up either a new or used standard black and gold or black and platinum, but have started looking at the Solitaire versions.

I love relatively close to a mount blanc store, and they happen to have some old leftover stock new in the box but outdated models. They have one of the ceramic Prisma in medium.

It looks very nice. I was not able to write with it as it has not been inked, but I just wanted to hold it see what it felt like and I left so I could sleep on it.

They are selling it at about 30% off but it would’ve cost when it was new. I also have looked online to compare used prices. I have found some used but essentially new looking examples for a few hundred bucks last but not dropped off a cheaper and this one would be knew from the store with a warranty.

I like the fact that it has a plastic section with the ink window. My only possible negative is the platinum plated barrel will probably pick up fingerprints like crazy, but I really like to have a Sparkles the facets of the ceramic Pick up highlights from the light, and it almost has a jewelry like appearance, but the black and silver contrasts a very neutral end not over the top

I was curious if anyone here has one has experience with one or have any other thoughts about whether I should reconsider a pen like this and they had back in a day or two, and just bite the bullet and buy it

Thx
    Pic of the pen
    Attached Images Attached Images