Thread: Waterman Hundread years Senior Size Celluloid - tops replacement

Thanks

Default Waterman 100 years Senior Size Celluloid- tops replacement-Step by step photo report

Yesterday I bought a pen that I like a lot and intent to fix myself using my lathe. It´s Waterman Hundread years senior size in green ( very dark, but green).

I found it with the rear transparent celluloid piece completely shattered as is usual in this pens.

Let me tell you guys up front I am not a professional repair man, but I know how to work the lathe and enjoy doing most pen repairs in my pens. I´ve mainly worked in pistons reparations or other filling systems repair and crack repairs.

Now i intent to cut the bad celluloid part and replace it by a green piece of acrylic as I don't have any green celluloid. I am choosing green, because It looks tome that the top cap transparent celuloid was green...

Here is a picture with the "before" condition to future reference.

This afternoon I started working on it and cut the bad celluloid part. I come across with my first doubt:

After cutting out all the "damaged" external celluloid , I´ve started boring a bit more the celluloid to make a lip to be used later as "gluing surface".

Should I bore all the way until I reach the inside part of the barrel and take out all the celluloid or should I leave a bit of green celluloid and then glue the new green transparent acrilyc?

Here is a picture of the barrel after cutting out all the crazed celluloid and started to make the lip.

Should I do the lip with an angle to increase the gluing surface and diminish the visual impact of the transparent to solid celluloid transition, or just leave it like this at a 90º angle?

Hope to be able to finish this repair with a little guidance from the experts in the forum.

I will update step by step pictures of the work done herein this forum.

Thanks in advance for any help given.
    Last edited by piscov; September 9th, 2013 at 03:59 PM.

Thanks