Thread: Best Fine and Extra-Fine Pens and Nibs

Thanks

Default Best Fine and Extra-Fine Pens and Nibs

Hi All!

I'm very new to Fountain Pens but already have an addiction Purchased my first FP about a month ago and have since bought 6 more. I currently have two Safari's F and EF, Lamy Vista EF, two Ahab's, a Pilot Metropolitan, Waterman Kultur F, and the Kickstarter Visionnaire Pen (how I initially started with fountain pens).

After much writing the past month with all the above pens, I've discovered I LOVE fine and extra-fine pens. I want to expand my pen collection to some nicer pens now - in the $50 and up range (money isn't really an issue as I'm sure I'll get a few pens in each price range).

Forgive me if there's already a thread about this question: What are some of your favorite Fine and Extra-Fine pens?

I like both heavy and light pens; don't like really skinny pen bodies, so leading more towards medium or larger ones; write a TON so want something that's comfortable for all-day writing sessions; I like the twist caps, though it's not a deal-breaker, and I rarely if ever write with the cap posted...

Very curious and excited to hear from your expertise and experience. Thanks so much in advance and Happy New Years!

b
    Last edited by benjitzu; December 26th, 2013 at 11:51 AM.

Thanks

Default Re: Best Fine and Extra-Fine Pens and Nibs

Try the Chinese pens, their F is like a western XF, and their XF is really thin.
    Also the Japanese pens have nice fine nibs.

BTW, the Lamy XF nib puts down an ink line like my old Parker F nib, and the Lamy F nib is like my old Parker M nibs.

But when you get into these fine nibs, your writing experience is more dependent on the paper, and the smoothness of the paper surface.

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by ac12 View Post
    Try the Chinese pens, their F is like a western XF, and their XF is really thin.