Thread: Ideas for present

Thanks

Default Ideas for present

Hi all

Newbie here needing advice

Want to buy a pen for a gift (male)

He is likely to have an appreciation of a good pen, however will not be a pen geek! :-)

He owns a couple of pens, one of which I believe will be montblanc.

I'm looking for a a pen to fit following criteria.

1) sub £400 (ideally £300 mark) (450 USD)
    2) a known brand so the recipient will know they have received a good pen (so ideally no "quirky" new brands)
    3) classic in nature but maybe a modern twist.

My knowledge at this range isn't great but my research says maybe Graf Von faber-castell? Classic but modern twist seems to sum them up???!!
    Any other ideas welcome!!

I'm don't object to watermans or parker etc and similar but because they have a cheaper line of pens I was thinking of getting a more "elitist" brand. I know that sounds pretentious but if you guys believe they have the best pens at that price point then I will happily take the geeks advice!!

I have no idea of writing style or nib preferences etc so I'm buying a little blind!

Help appreciated.

Thanks

Default Re: Ideas for present

Viscounti
    Tom
    @silverbreeze
    ---
    Forgive any ignorance on my part.
    Any stupidity is my brain not being malleable enough to understand
    ===
    Open to anyone writing me. Will do my best to reply quickly
    ====
    Tomasz S Suchecki
    77 Meadowpark Ave North
    Stamford CT 06905-2221
    United States of America

Thanks

Hard decision to make not knowing his taste in pens. Vintage? Modern? Fat pen? Thin pen? Material? Filling system?

There are many variables to take into consideration. There are a great deal of pens available in your price range and I don't envy your task!

Good luck!

David

Thanks

Agreed, it's tricky. Pelikan was the first name which came to mind (I can't imagine there's anyone who wouldn't find a Pelikan highly acceptable), but there isn't much of a modern twist.