Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Favorite Sheaffers??

Thanks

Default Favorite Sheaffers??

I think Sheaffer was perhaps the most innovative of the pen companies of the Golden Era and beyond. I know it can be argued many ways and not all the "innovations" were originally their idea, but the did make them marketable. The lever filler, the "balance" shape, the vac filler (certainly not original), the triumph nib and my favorite filling system, the Snorkel. You have to love a pen that has too many moving parts, an extending snorkel tube, and that doubles as a squirt gun. The filling system is an engineering wonder and at the same time just isn't necessary, but as gimmicks go, it was a great one.

As far as writing goes, I really like the OS Sheaffer Balance pens. I've been carrying a brown striped vac filler model for a few months and it a superb pen. It holds a ton of ink and that big two toned nib is eye-catching.

I also think if you are looking for EF nibs, there are some Triumph nibs that are hard to beat.

So what are your favorite Sheaffer's?

Thanks

I love my Sheaffer Statesman, Snorkel, Triumph F4 PdAg nib
    Blogs: Via Gravatar

Twitter: FPOkami

Flickr: Flickr

Thanks
    Thanked 1,837 Times in 439 Posts

Default Re: Favorite Sheaffers??

The OS Balance ranks very highly on my list but I also love the PFMs.

Sent from my DAMAGEDHERO200 using Tapatalk

Thanks

I don't know that I've had enough Sheaffers to have a favorite, but I picked up an Admiral Snorkel to fix up and resell and haven't been able to let it go. It's got a Gregg nib and writes wonderfully, and I have a feeling it'll be staying on my desk.

PMS

I have six Sheaffers, I have two which I use frequently, both lever fill, one is a Craftsman with a flexie Feathertouch nib, and the other is a late 30's Balance with a Lifetime fine point nib with a little bit of give. Both are a joy to write with and one can write with them for very long periods of time.
    PMS

Thanks