Thread: Got a 32V - but nib is damaged?

Thanks

Default Got a 32V - but nib is damaged?

Hey there

Today my Waterman 32V arrived - another of the pens I got on search for just the right amount of flex. But I digress.

The pen seems to be in overall good shape. The rubber sac is completely degraded and I'm still thinking of a way to get it out there without damaging anything, especially the metal lever. Which also means, that I couldn't test yet how it writes.

When looking at the nib, it looks damaged, bent, or like someone messed with it, though. I have to say this is my first Waterman and one of my first vintage pens ever, so I'm not really experienced enough to make any judgements. The spines look spread apart way too much. Kind of pessimistic about whether it would write or not. I hope it will write, though, because it seems to have a lot of smooth flex.

Anyway, until I can test that myself in a couple of days, can anyone with more experience tell me if that nib is normal, or if something is weird about it?

Here are 3 photos:

Thanks

Default Re: Got a 32V - but nib is damaged?

Yes, unfortunately it is bent and splayed. It is not as easy as it looks to get them back into place but it is doable. I have played with more than a few bent nibs and I suggest having it professionally straightened. Whatever you pay will (should) be less than a new nib and it will be worth avoiding the frustration.

3. The Following User Says Thank You to Jeph For This Useful Post:

7188photo (September 2nd, 2014)

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Jeph View Post
    Yes, unfortunately it is bent and splayed. It is not as easy as it looks to get them back into place but it is doable. I have played with more than a few bent nibs and I suggest having it professionally straightened. Whatever you pay will (should) be less than a new nib and it will be worth avoiding the frustration.